Making a Better Community

The SouthEastern Ohio Joint Solid Waste Management District was formed on March 1, 1989 by Guernsey, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, and Washington counties in compliance with Substitute Ohio House Bill 592 which required that counties form solid waste management districts to provide for the reduction of solid waste being disposed of in Ohio landfills, and to provide the District’s residents and businesses with guaranteed solid waste disposal capacity for ten-year to fifteen-year periods. The District also provides programs for the recovery of common recyclables from the home as well as special wastes such as scrap tires, household appliances, electronics, and household hazardous wastes through a variety of private sector and governmental contractors.

Serving 6 Counties in SouthEastern Ohio

2011 - 84,476 Tons of Industrial Waste 2011 - 23,648 Tons of Residential/Commercial Recycling 2011 - Industrial/Commercial/Residential Recycling Rate: 30.15

2010 Census

Population: 232,280


Robert Reiter, Coordinator
46049 Marietta Road, Suite 6
Caldwell, Ohio 43724-9124
Phone: (740) 732-5493 or 800-860-8103
Fax: (740) 732-2372

Recycling: The New Way of Life

Homeowners learn more about what household items are recyclable and which ones are not.

Read More

Recent News

Recycling trailers at scheduled sites are for cardboard, paperboard, newspaper, catalogs, magazines, office paper, #1 & #2 plastics, aluminum cans, tin cans, and clear, brown, and green glass. No other items are collected at these sites, so please do not place them in the trailers.

Special Collection events are scheduled. Dates, times, and/or locations are subject to change. Click “Read More” for items collected at events. Call the Solid Waste office if you have other items.

Guernsey County/Cambridge Recyclers: The trailer at the Library will now be at that site Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday morning. There is a new site at the Cambridge Water Plant on Charles Avenue. The trailer will be place at NOON on Wednesday and be there through Friday.

Monroe County recyclers: The trailer will no longer be at the site near Memorial Park. The trailer will be placed at Riesbeck’s

Read More

©2012 SouthEastern Ohio Joint Solid Waste Management District