***DO NOT PLACE ANY PLASTIC BAGS IN RECYCLING.***

THIS INCLUDES SHOPPING BAGS AND FEED BAGS

Empty all plastic bags and dispose of bags properly (which is not in trailers).

(Shredded paper needs to be and may be placed in clear or transparent bags – DO NOT place loose shredded paper in trailers. Newspaper, catalogs, and magazines may be bundled with string or twine.)

The only items accepted at recycling sites (trailers/building): cardboard; paperboard; newspaper; magazines; catalogs; office paper; junk mail; #1 & #2 plastics; aluminum, steel , and tin cans; clear, brown, & green glass

***PAPER TOWELS AND TISSUES ARE NOT RECYCLABLE***

*****Do NOT place garbage or other non-recyclable items in recycling trailers.*****

*****Do NOT place items collected at special collection events in the recycling trailers.*****

***IF SITES CONTINUE TO BE ABUSED, THE SITE WILL BE REMOVED.***

We do understand that many plastic bags are #2 and are considered recyclable.  However, many recycling centers are no longer accepting the plastic bags.  These bags become entangled around wheels and gears of equipment causing much downtime at the centers removing the plastic so equipment can operate properly.

Serving 6 Counties in SouthEastern Ohio

The SouthEastern Ohio Joint Solid Waste Management District was formed on March 1, 1989 by Guernsey, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, and Washington counties in compliance with Substitute Ohio House Bill 592 which required that counties form solid waste management districts to provide for the reduction of solid waste being disposed of in Ohio landfills, and to provide the District’s residents and businesses with guaranteed solid waste disposal capacity for ten-year to fifteen-year periods. The District also provides programs for the recovery of common recyclables from the home as well as special wastes such as scrap tires, household appliances, electronics, and household hazardous wastes through a variety of private sector and governmental contractors.

According to the 2010 Census. Population 232,280

84,476

Tons of Industrial Waste

23,648

Tons of Residential/
Commercial Recycling

30.15

Industrial/Commercial/
Residential Recycling Rate

map

Recycling & Special Collections

  • Sun, Sep 01 - Tue, Oct 01
    McConnelsville
  • Mon, Sep 02 - Tue, Sep 03
    Beverly 1
  • Mon, Sep 02 - Wed, Sep 04
    Zanesville 1
  • Mon, Sep 02 - Fri, Sep 06
    Cambridge/Library
  • Mon, Sep 02 - Sun, Sep 08
    McConnelsville
  • Tue, Sep 03 - Wed, Sep 04
    New Matamoras
  • Tue, Sep 03 - Wed, Sep 04
    Woodsfield
  • Tue, Sep 03 - Wed, Sep 04
    Adamsville
  • Wed, Sep 04 - Fri, Sep 06
    Zanesville 2
  • Wed, Sep 04 - Thu, Sep 05
    Reno
  • Thu, Sep 05 - Fri, Sep 06
    Lowell
  • Sat, Sep 07 - Sun, Sep 08
    Zanesville 3
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Tue, Sep 10
    Devola
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Wed, Sep 11
    Zanesville 1
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Tue, Sep 10
    Woodsfield
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Fri, Sep 13
    Cambridge/Library
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Sun, Sep 15
    McConnelsville
  • Mon, Sep 09 - Mon, Sep 09
    Board of Directors Meeting
  • Tue, Sep 10 - Wed, Sep 11
    Oak Grove
  • Tue, Sep 10 - Wed, Sep 11
    Malaga
  • Tue, Sep 10 - Wed, Sep 11
    Cumberland
  • Tue, Sep 10 - Wed, Sep 11
    Adamsville
  • Wed, Sep 11 - Thu, Sep 12
    Lower Salem
  • Wed, Sep 11 - Thu, Sep 12
    Beallsville
  • Wed, Sep 11 - Thu, Sep 12
    Senecaville
  • Wed, Sep 11 - Fri, Sep 13
    Zanesville 2
  • Thu, Sep 12 - Fri, Sep 13
    Lewisville
  • Thu, Sep 12 - Fri, Sep 13
    Lore City
  • Thu, Sep 12 - Fri, Sep 13
    Little Hocking
  • Sat, Sep 14 - Sun, Sep 15
    Zanesville 3
  • Mon, Sep 16 - Tue, Sep 17
    Beverly 2
  • Mon, Sep 16 - Wed, Sep 18
    Zanesville 1
  • Mon, Sep 16 - Fri, Sep 20
    Cambridge/Library
  • Mon, Sep 16 - Sun, Sep 22
    McConnelsville
  • Tue, Sep 17 - Wed, Sep 18
    Lowell
  • Tue, Sep 17 - Wed, Sep 18
    Sardis
  • Tue, Sep 17 - Wed, Sep 18
    Old Washington
  • Tue, Sep 17 - Wed, Sep 18
    Adamsville
  • Wed, Sep 18 - Fri, Sep 20
    Zanesville 2
  • Wed, Sep 18 - Thu, Sep 19
    Meigsville
  • Wed, Sep 18 - Thu, Sep 19
    Clarington
  • Wed, Sep 18 - Thu, Sep 19
    Winterset
  • Wed, Sep 18 - Thu, Sep 19
    Malta
  • Thu, Sep 19 - Fri, Sep 20
    Stockport
  • Thu, Sep 19 - Fri, Sep 20
    Hannibal
  • Thu, Sep 19 - Fri, Sep 20
    Quaker City
  • Sat, Sep 21 - Sun, Sep 22
    Zanesville 3
  • Mon, Sep 23 - Tue, Sep 24
    Woodsfield
  • Mon, Sep 23 - Wed, Sep 25
    Zanesville 1
  • Mon, Sep 23 - Tue, Sep 24
    Waterford
  • Mon, Sep 23 - Fri, Sep 27
    Cambridge/Library
  • Mon, Sep 23 - Sun, Sep 29
    McConnelsville
  • Tue, Sep 24 - Wed, Sep 25
    Reinersville
  • Tue, Sep 24 - Wed, Sep 25
    Adamsville
  • Wed, Sep 25 - Fri, Sep 27
    Zanesville 2
  • Wed, Sep 25 - Thu, Sep 26
    Little Hocking
  • Wed, Sep 25 - Thu, Sep 26
    Chesterhill
  • Thu, Sep 26 - Fri, Sep 27
    Pennsville
  • Fri, Sep 27 - Sun, Sep 29
    Pleasant City
  • Sat, Sep 28 - Sun, Sep 29
    Zanesville 3
  • Mon, Sep 30 - Wed, Oct 02
    Zanesville 1
  • Mon, Sep 30 - Fri, Oct 04
    Cambridge/Library
  • Mon, Sep 30 - Sun, Oct 06
    McConnelsville
VIEW MORE

recycling_new_way

Recycling: The New Way of Life

Homeowners learn more about what household items are recyclable and which ones are not.

READ MORE

Recent News

  • Recycling trailers at scheduled sites are for cardboard, paperboard, news paper, catalogs, magazines, office paper, #1 & #2 plastics, aluminum cans, tin cans, and clear, brown, and green glass. No other items are collected at these sites, so please do not place them in the trailers.
  • Please do NOT put garbage or other non-recyclable items in the recycling trailers.
  • Guernsey County/Cambridge Recyclers: The trailer at the Library will now be at that site Monday morning through Friday afternoon. The other site is at the Cambridge Street Department on Charles Avenue. The trailer will be place at the site 24/7 and is available when facility gate is open.
  • There will be no household hazardous waste collections scheduled for 2019.